Youth Leadership Awards

The SMYAL LGBT Youth Leadership Awards recognize student leaders who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and impact in their school or communities. These post-secondary scholarships provide a total of up to $25,000 to 5-8 students a year in honor of their leadership as they continue their education. Individual scholarships of up to $5,000 each are paid directly to winners to help offset the cost of tuition, books, materials, housing, travel, and other expenses associated with school.

Since 2015, the YLAs have awarded $107,000 to 41 student leaders, learn more about our past winners below!

The 2022 SMYAL Scholarship applications have now closed.

Previous Winners

2022 Winners

2021 Winners

Ario F.

Ario F. (they/she) is passionate about using their identity to...

Read More

2020 Winners

2019 Winners

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

2016 Winners

2015 Winners